Alex Harwood
Alex Harwood is an award-winning film composer, whose films have screened worldwide and have included nominations for BIFA, Anima Mundi, Edinburgh Film Festival, IDFA and Locarno.
 After graduating from the Royal College of Music (Dip Mus) and then The Juilliard School (MA) Alex was composer in residence for the Juilliard Drama Division, during which time wrote for theatre productions in New York and England. Amongst numerous commissions that have been performed world wide are The Happy Prince (cantata for soloists, chorus and orchestra) libretto by Ronald Harwood, St John’s Smith’s Square, London; Untitled (voice and percussion) for Audra MacDonald, Avery Fisher Hall, NY; and  Sonatina (alto flute and pianoThe National Flute Convention, chosen repetoire,  2009,USA ; Theme and Variations-  written for Sir Ronald Harwood’s 70th Birthday, performed in the presence of HRH The Prince of Wales.
Experience in theatre and concert work lead to taking a MA in film composition at the National Film and Television School, which began a career as a film composer.Film scores include, Z1 (BIFA nomination 2013 dir. Gabriel Gauchet), Girlfriend in a Coma (dir. Annalisa Piras), Ideal Wife (dir. Philip Saville) Musical Star! (dir. Louis Paxton), Foggiest Ideal (dir. Kim Noce and Shaun Clark. MewLab Productions), Kiss (dir. Cathy Brady), No Man’s Land  (IDFA nomination 2013) and An Anxious Mind (dir. Michael Graverson), Loose Ends,(dir. Kim Strobl), Homey (dir. Ben Garfield), Drying for Freedom (dir.Steven Lake), End of An Era (dir.Yousif Al-Khalifa), Four and Flat Frogfor Italian animation studio Inkymind, Chessmates and The Bird (dir. Mikel Gurrea) and several scores for SweetDoh! Productions.
Prizes, Awards and Fellowships include:Beaconsfield Film Society Scholar
Best Composer, UnderWire Film Festival 2011
The Cobbett and Hurlstone Prize for Composition
The United Music Publishers Ltd. Prize for an outstanding composition Student
Fellowship in Composition at Tanglewood Music Festival
Foundation for the Arts Award, NY
Boulez Fellow, LA
Henry Mancini Prize for Composition, LA